Whistlers Campground

Rockies · Parks Canada · Jasper National Park · Updated

Fire-burned forest at Whistlers Campground after the 2024 wildfire.
Fire-burned forest at Whistlers Campground after the 2024 wildfire.
Photo: Christoph Strässler from Oberdorf BL, Schweiz, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Jasper's largest campground and the main RV base for the park, with full hookups, power sites, hot showers and evening programs. The 2024 wildfire burned much of the surrounding forest, so expect an open, recovering landscape, with new wildlife fencing going in from fall 2026. It's a short walk or bike ride into town.

Family-friendlyBikingPlaygroundDark skiesPet-friendlyBig-rig friendly

Nearby: “A trail running through the campground means it's an easy walk or bike ride to town.” (Parks Canada page)

Why these tags? (sources)
  • Family-friendly: “A family trip to the iconic Whistlers Campground has something for everyone: a playground for the kids.” Parks Canada page
  • Biking: “A trail running through the campground means it's an easy walk or bike ride to town.” Parks Canada page
  • Playground: “A playground for the kids.” Parks Canada page
  • Dark skies: “In 2011, the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada designated Jasper National Park as a dark-sky preserve.” Wikipedia: Jasper National Park
  • Pet-friendly: “Your pets must be leashed at all times and not left unattended.” Parks Canada page
  • Big-rig friendly: “Can accommodate most sizes of motorhomes and trailers.” Parks Canada page

Please note:

  • After the 2024 Jasper wildfire, Whistlers is surrounded by burned forest, and Parks Canada plans to install wildlife fencing around the campground in fall 2026.

Cost

Typical cost per night: about $47 (approximate average of the listed rates, before extras)

Nightly rates by site type (CAD)
Unserviced with showers$34.00
Unserviced with showers, with fire pit$47.75
Electrical$40.00
Electrical, with fire pit$53.75
Full service$47.25
Full service, with fire pit$61.00

Jasper fees are published by service category, not by campground; the category was matched to the site types listed for this campground. Jasper's camping page says firewood is included in camping fees (the 'with fire pit' rates).

Source: official rates page. Rates checked October 2026, confirm before booking.

Campground details

ParkJasper National Park
OperatorParks Canada
LocationJust south of the Town of Jasper, connected to town by trail.
Season2026: May 6 – Oct 12 (2026 dates; they change yearly and with weather)
Site typesUnserviced, Power, Full hookups
781 sites: full service and electrical (15/30/50 amp), unserviced, walk-in; plus 17 oTENTiks
RV lengthAccommodates most sizes of motorhomes and trailers.
ShowersYes
Sani-dumpNot stated
Flush toiletsNot stated
Other amenitiesShowers included in fee, Playground, Interpretive programs, Bear-proof lockers, Gift shop
ReservationsParks Canada Reservation Service (online or 1-877-737-3783)
Book or check availability
Official pageparks.canada.ca

Details are from the official/operator pages listed above, checked October 2026. Seasons, rates, closures and rules change; confirm with the operator before you go. Check fire bans and road conditions. Explore: Jasper National Park, Maligne Lake & Maligne Canyon.